Travelling through Algarve to the end of the World to escape winter

 How it all started

I started my journey from Lisbon because I was in pursuit of the forgotten sun and hopeful to find it at the end of the 3-hour train ride towards Lagos, in the south of Portugal. The sun was a bit stingy even when I arrived there, but I was already mesmerized by this view:

Lagosstancisimare
Lagos

And  I could already feel the spring air from here:

Lagos
Lagos

Finally I arrived to praia das batatas, which means the potato beach.

Lisbonbatatas
Spot the potato beach

 Historical Lagos

And from there you can see that Lagos is not only about the beaches. Right next to it, there is Ponta da Bandeira, a part of the 17th century fortifications that were added to protect the town.

IMG_4128
Ponta da Bandeira

For a fee of 2 euro, you can get inside and check it out

IMG_4164

and enjoy this view:

Lagos1

As I was walking further along the cobbled street near the waterfront

IMG_4067

I came across the replica of the caravel Boa Esperança and it made me think that I would like to explore more of the area by boat. Tough luck, though, the conditions were not good for that, so no boats left when I was there. That would be a good reason for visiting later in the spring or summer.

IMG_4050
Replica of the caravel Boa Esperança

What I did instead was take a bus to Sagres, aka the end of the World, called that way because in the days before Columbus, when the world was presumed to be flat, this was the spot closest to the edge of the Earth.

Busses go several times a day from Lagos and it takes only about an hour to get there. Perfect for a day trip.

Sagres
Sagres

 Arriving at the end of the World in Sagres

The wind was very strong, and I was happy that I had listened to the advice of the locals and took my long and warm pashmina with me.

Sagrescumine.jpg
Sagres

Sagres is at the South-Western tip of Portugal.

Sagresdepestanca
Sagres

It’s windy all the time but this view is worth it.

Sagresdeaproape

Albufeira

I continued my trip to Albufeira, where I finally found the sun, along with this breathtaking view:

 The  journey goes on

As I achieved my goal of escaping the winter and finding the sun, I continued my trip through Algarve towards LouléFaro and ultimately Alvor.

https://www.twotravelingtexans.com/the-weekly-postcard/

TheWeeklyPostcard-3-2

36 thoughts on “Travelling through Algarve to the end of the World to escape winter

  1. Pingback: This is Serious – Favourite Words

  2. Very beautiful!

    But by the time of Columbus, the shape of the earth had already been established to be a ball (roughly). That’s exactly why he did sail west in a quest to find a sea passage to Asia, presumably shorter than the way east. What Columbus did not know, or underestimated, was the size of the earth.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. katiecburry

    I can completely relate to your cabin fever. I live in Wisconsin and I’m so over the snow and grey clouds! This beach is beautiful and I’m glad you were able to find some sunshine. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, my dear ! I love it, you took nice pictures of the beautiful landscape!
    I am Portuguese and I am always super happy to hear that someone enjoyed visit Portugal.
    I was born in Coimbra (center of the country) which is a historic city, there is also the oldest university of Europe.
    You gave me a ” wanderlust ” feeling now !

    Like

  5. Great post my dear ! I love it, you took nice pictures of the beautiful landscapes !

    I am Portuguese and I am always super happy to hear that someone enjoyed visit my country.
    I was born in Coimbra (center of the country) which is a historic city, there is also the oldest university of Europe.
    You gave me a ” wanderlust ” feeling now !

    Like

Leave a comment